Home Hacking SIMPLE iPhone trick to keep your phone data safe from hackers

SIMPLE iPhone trick to keep your phone data safe from hackers

by

With iOS 16, Apple now lets your iPhone go into a lockdown mode. Here are all the details.

iPhones are regarded as the most secure smartphones you can buy today. The iOS operating system is built in a way to keep things secure and private, keeping all things away from harm. However, hackers can always find a way to steal crucial data from your device, be it your bank credentials or your photos on your device, those can be stolen with clever tricks. Apple came up with a new solution with the iOS 16 update, and the feature is called the Lockdown Mode.

The Lockdown Mode is simply a feature to switch off the most hackable features when things go wrong. The feature is effective enough to be called by the cybersecurity experts a great way to stay safe in such scenarios. And it works easily – all you need to do is launch the Lockdown mode and make it harder for online hackers to help themselves with your data.

Lockdown mode on iPhone: What is it?

The Lockdown mode on iPhone is simply a one touch tool to let you lockdown your phone in the case you feel that your device is being monitored or hacked by someone secretly. It comes handy at a time when spyware like Pegasus has been used massively by several organisations and governments to snoop on people.

The Lockdown mode simply restricts your activity on the device, thereby limiting the damage and harm a hacker can do on your device. In short, cybercriminals get almost nothing relevant to play with.

“It’s the sort of feature that is probably standard issue among intelligence agents, now rolled out to a far wider audience,” says Marijus Briedis, Chief Technology Officer at NordVPN.

However, the Lockdown Mode comes with a major drawback and it could make many reconsider the feature. It is said that enabling the Lockdown Mode has a serious effect on performance of the device. An iPhone in Lockdown Mode will block message attachments and links as well as photo albums will be unavailable. Anonymous FaceTime calls will also be blocked.

Additionally, the Lockdown Mode can be turned off only with a full system reset.

Source link

Related Articles

Translate »